SAP BASIS Client Administration



Share this facebook google pluse twitter linkedin

Posted 2018-02-09 17:19:57

 

Client Administration

 

A client is, in organizational terms, an independent unit in the R/3 System. Each client has its own data environment and therefore its own master data and transaction data, assigned user master records and charts of accounts, and specific customizing parameters.

 

1. Client Overview - T code-SCC4

 

2. Client Creation - T code- SCC4

 

3. Local Client Copy - T code- SCCL

 

4. Remote Client copy - T code- SCC9

 

5. Client Deletion - T code-SCC5

 

6. Client Export - T code-SCC8

 

7. Client Import - T code-SCC7

 

 

 

Client Overview: T code- SCC4

 

 

Creation of Client-- SCC4

 

Execute SCC4 and see the screen below

 

 

Click on change button -

 

Click on “New Entries”

 

Fill up the tabs as shown below.

 

 

Click Save  button.

Local Client Copy SCCL:

 

Pre-Requisites:

1. Make sure you have enough space in PSAP<SID> tablespace to complete the client copy.

2. Create a client in 3 digit number except 000, 001 and 066

3. Check server has enough space to handle client copy before scheduling client copy. You can check this using tcode DB02.

4. Login to the new client using SAP* user and password PASS.

5. execute tcode SCCL in SAP command line

6. Select the profile you want to copy to new client, e.g. SAP_ALL

7. Select the source client e.g. 000

 

8. Select source client master data e.g. 000

9. Now click on schedule as background job

 

Click on continue

10. Select the back ground server you want to perform this action, default leave the field blank.

11. Now click on schedule job

12. Click on “Immediate.”

13. Click check

 

14. click Save  button. 

15. A summary of client copy will be shown in the screen with test run

16. Make sure test mode is not selected at this moment.

17. click on continue

18. now the client copy is scheduled in background

19. Client copy progress can be monitored using tcode SCC3

20. Job can be also seen in SM50

If client copy fails due to any reason, you can check the log in SCC3.

 

Once the problem is solved, you can restart the client copy with same setting in restart mode.

Remote Client Copy -- SCC9

Remote client copy is performed in rare situation. When the client copy is done between two different SAP systems, the copy is called remote client copy.

Before remote client copy is performed, a RFC connection must be set between those systems using SM59.

1. Check RFC connection is working fine between two systems you want to perform remote client copy using SM59

2. create client in the target system you want to copy the client

3. login to target client using user SAP* and password PASS

4. execute tcode SCC9 and select the RFC for the source system

5. select the profile you want to copy like SAP_ALL

6. select source client number you want to copy

7. Select source client master data , mostly it is the same client number

8. Now click on schedule as background job.

9. Leave the background server field blank.

10. Click schedule.

11. Select Immediate from next screen.

12. Save the screen.

13. Client copy is scheduled now as a background job and client copy process started.

14. The progress can be monitored using tcode SCC3

Client Deletion -- SCC5

Client deletion is performed when the client data is corrupted or client data is no longer needed to avoid confusion.

1. Don?t delete the client using SCC4 the space occupied by the client can?t be regained

2. login to the client you want to delete

3. run tcode SCC5 in sap command line

4. Tick mark on remove from table T000 to perform a complete removal.

5. Now click on schedule as background job

6. leave the background server blank

7. now click on schedule job

8. click on Immediate

9. click on save

10. Client deletion is started and log can be seen in SCC3

Reorganization: Client Deleted. Space still filled up in Database 

Data is deleted from tables when deleting a client. Some databases (for example Oracle and Informix, but not Adabas D) have the attribute that the space occupied by tables is not changed when deleting data. The cleared areas within the tables can however be filled with new data.

Solution:

This is the normal behavior of the database and not an error. If new data is stored (creation of a new client, adding further data to already existing clients), the space of the deleted client is reused. If you want to immediately recover the cleared space, you must reorganize the database (or at least parts of it). There are two reasons for performing reorganization:

  • A "large" client with a large amount of data was deleted and this amount of data will not be added to the system in the foreseeable future.
  • After deleting the client, a lot of small areas (individual records) can have been deleted in the database. These small gaps are not completely recycled. Particularly after the repeated deletion of clients, the space in the database can be utilized inefficiently.

 

 

Share this facebook google pluse twitter linkedin